[Review] The Body Shop Skin Defence Multi-Protection Essence

A few months ago, I walked into The Body Shop to get a new body scrub, besides the lovely British Rose Scrub that I’ve purchased (check out the review!), I bought a sunscreen along to hit the price to become a member (Yes, I’m a total sucker for these kind of things). The sunscreen is non other than the Skin Defence Multi-Protection Essence.

The sunscreen has a SPF of 50 and PA++++,  while I was trying the product out in the shop, I was amazed at how the texture is super watery and absorbs really quickly into my (hand) skin. It gives a little sheen which I thought was pretty nice at first, little did I know that that was what made me dislike the product SO badly.

IMG_2738

Skin Defence Multi-Protection Essence Retails at S$34.90 for 40ml at The Body Shop

Ingredients Include:

Aqua/Water/Eau, Alcohol Denat., Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Neopentyl Glycol Diheptanoate, Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Glycerin, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol, Octocrylene, Chlorphenesin, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Cetearyl Glucoside, Sclerocarya Birrea Seed Oil, Parfum/Fragrance, 3-O-Ethyl Ascorbic Acid, Sodium Hydroxide, Palmaria Palmata Extract, Carbomer, Linalool, Tocopherol, Limonene, Citronellol.

First let us look at the ingredients in the product, immediately we see Alcohol Denat as the second ingredient, there is also Cetearyl Alcohol present. Personally, I am not sensitive towards alcohol in products, but this may potentially cause irritations to those who have really sensitive skin. Like what is even this?? Suitable for sensitive skin, they say:

IMG_2743

When I first tried the product, I was pretty happy that it goes on really smoothly due to its watery texture. It is what it claims to be, very light weight with a high SPF and there was no white cast left behind. It has a cooling sensation when applied as well, obviously due to the alcohol content. Then there is the sheen that is left behind after I massaged the product into the skin:

IMG_2742

Pardon my hand hair (oops), but I am pretty sure you could see this shine on my hands where I applied the sunscreen. Now I am pretty okay with a little shine on my face, when you first apply, it looks really good on the skin – almost like the healthy dewy skin look. The fact is, it does not only look shiny, it feels ‘shiny’ as well, in which I meant OILY.

The finish after I applied the product is super freaking oily, so much that my hair actually sticks to the face! The worst is that it simply does not go away. I thought I would give it some time, maybe the product will settle into my skin then the oily finish would fade away. Oh am I so wrong. The oiliness only gets worst throughout the day when your face produces oil gradually, the oil builds up and by the third hour, my whole face is like an oil field. When I touch my face, my hands and fingers gets oily and so are my other items. My office desk, keyboard and mouse are all plague with the oil. It is totally disastrous, and not to mention how I look. It was as though my face was drenched in oil and my fringe too, looked as though I did not wash my hair for 3 days.

I have to emphasize that I am not a person who produces a lot of oils on my face and have really dehydrated skin – which is why this product really baffles me. When I was using the Innisfree Eco Safety Perfect Waterproof Sunblock, I can have my whole day with my face fresh with minimum oil production. A simple rinse with plain water and my face is as fresh just as I started out in the morning. For this product however, I couldn’t even wipe off anything with my Garnier Cleansing Towelettes (See here)

I admit it is my own fault for not researching beforehand when buying the product, but it definitely did not help when most of the posts regarding this product are all PR gifted. I hardly see any negative feedback on this product at all! I have used this sunscreen for 5 times and every time I use, I regret my decision. Today was the 5th time because I ran out of my Innisfree Sunblock – which was what led me to this review post. I don’t like to waste products and especially item which has a hefty price tag, but I really want to get rid of this sunscreen. I appreciate the good ingredients and anti-oxidants they used in the product like the Red Algae Extract or the 3-O-Ethyl Ascorbic Acid that brightens up skin complexion, it may have worked for other people but the people simply do not include myself.

Again, thanks for reading the whole chunk of words, it is more of a rant rather than a review I dare say. I hope this could be helpful to you and the lesson here is to research thoroughly before caving in and swatches on the hands never ever worked on the actual skin on the face – so don’t trust them!

 

wallet-burn-level-copy

fire-icon

(Highly do NOT recommend, but who knows? It might work for you skin! They do have great ingredients after all.)

2 thoughts on “[Review] The Body Shop Skin Defence Multi-Protection Essence

Leave a Reply

